Skip to content
Tab thru menu links. Enter key for site map

Leadership Awards

Each spring, Appalachian recognizes outstanding members of the University in an award ceremony for Student Development Awards & the Student Organization Leadership Awards (SOLA) hosted by Club Council. Congratulations to the organizations, students, and advisors who were recognized for the 2017-2018 academic year!

Student Organization Leadership Awards

Collaboration Award

  • INTAPP for Culture Crawl

Community Impact Award

  • Melanin in Medicine

Outstanding Educational Program

  • Phi Chi Pre-Medical and Pre-Dental Society for Appalachian State Pre-Health Conference

Membership Development Award

  • Beta Alpha Psi

Outside the Box Award

  • Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated

Appalachian Image Award

  • Appstate Cycling Club
  • Gamma Iota Sigma- Rho Chapter

Leaders In Action Award

  • Future Healthcare Executives

Best New Organization Award

  • Alpha Epsilon Pi

Outstanding Academic Organization Award

  • The Geographical Society

Outstanding Service Organization Award

  • Walker Fellows

Outstanding Department Affiliated Organization Award

  • Ambassadors

Outstanding Religious & Spiritual Organization Award

  • Delight

Unsung Champion Award

  • Paige Schurter

Rising Star Award

  • Jackie Huckert

Outstanding Achievement Award

  • Ana Dell

Outstanding Multicultural Organization Award


Outstanding Special Interest Organization Award

  • Recreation Management Association

Commitment to Justice Award

  • Rachael Beller
  • Spirit of Service Award
  • Kirby Rose

Outstanding Organization Advisor

  • Traci Royster
  • Jerry Cherry

Student Organization President of the Year

  • Murilo Artese
  • Maggie King

Student Organization of the Year

  • Association of Student Entrepreneurs for Beans2Brew

Division of Student Affairs Awards

Gregory S. Blimling Award for Outstanding Graduate Student in Student Development

  • Kaci Ausmus
  • Alison Smith

Bernadino DiBernardi Award for Leadership and Legacy

  • Emily Young
  • Aubria Myers

Student Employee of the Year Award

Ronny L. Brooks Award for Outstanding Leadership

  • Sarah Aldridge
  • Dylan White

Bobby L. Dunnigan Award For Outstanding Service

  • John Garst
  • Rene Perez
  • Carson McCall

W.H. Plemmons Medallion

  • Patrick Setzer - staff
  • Keith Martin - faculty
  • Nicole Flournory - student
  • Elaine "Lainey" Everly - W.H. Plemmons Leadership Scholar