2020-2021 Award Winners

Congratulations to all the outstanding Clubs and Organizations and individual club members who have been recognized at the 2021 Student Organization Leadership Awards!

Individual Awards:

  • Unsung Champion Award:  Jamie Vertaramo - Sigma Alpha Iota
  • Rising Star Award: Gabby Andux - LEAD Team
  • Outstanding Achievement Award: Kayla McDougle for App Builds a Home
  • Commitment to Justice Award: Alvin Carlisle III - Kappa Kappa Psi
  • Spirit of Service Award: Aaron Carpenter - Alpha Epsilon Pi
  • Dr. Jim Street Award for Outstanding Presidential Leadership: Taylor Mackenzie - Red Flag Campaign
  • Dr. Jim Street Award for Outstanding Presidential Leadership: Sam Cheatham - Chess Club
  • Outstanding Advisor Award Dr. Meg Stohlmann - Sigma Alpha Iota
  • Outstanding Advisor Award - Department Affiliated Org Macki Snyder - Appalachian & the Community Together (ACT)

Organization Awards:

  • Collaboration Award: INTAPP & AppTV
  • Community Impact Award: App Builds a Home
  • Membership Development Award: National Residence Hall Honorary
  • Outside the Box Award: Appalachian Student Ambassadors 
  • Outside the Box Award: Peace and Genocide Education Club
  • Appalachian Image Award: 90.5 WASU-FM
  • Leaders in Action Award: LEAD Team
  • Outstanding Organization Award - Service: Kappa Delta
  • Outstanding Organization Award - Special Interest: Sigma Alpha Iota
  • Outstanding Organization Award - Department Affiliated Org: Wellness Educators for Change, Advocacy, and student Needs
  • Outstanding University Program: ACT
  • Student Organization of the Year: Lambda Sigma Upsilon

Congratulations to the 2021 APPS award recipients:

  • Dr. Brad Vest Award: MeKaela Comeau
  • Dave Robertson Award: Kalan Guenther
  • Dr. Dustin Evatt-Young Award: Emma Finerghty
  • Dr. Dustin Evatt-Young Award: Meredith Nanney
  • Susan Medlin Award: Allie Tarry
  • Susan Medlin Award: Torie Dera

Congratulations to the 2020 Fraternity & Sorority Life award recipients:

  • Greek Woman of the Year: Korbin Cummings, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
  • Greek Man of the Year: Aaron Carpenter, Alpha Epsilon Pi
  • Organization of the Year: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
  • IFC Chapter of the Year: Phi Gamma Delta
  • PHC Chapter of the Year: Chi Omega
  • MGC Chapter of the Year: Lambda Sigma Upsilon Latin Fraternity, Inc.
  • Fraternity President of the Year: Alan-Joshua Carrasco, Lambda Sigma Upsilon Latin Fraternity, Inc.
  • Sorority President of the Year: Abigail Silver, Alpha Delta Pi
  • Impact Philanthropy: Kappa Delta
  • Diversity Initiatives Award: Zeta Tau Alpha
  • Julie K. Nagel Spirit Award: Rachel Merril, Alpha Delta Pi
  • Dr. Jim Avant Advisor of the Year: Kaitlyn Still, Alpha Gamma Delta
  • PHC Most Improved Chapter of the Year: Delta Zeta
  • Carly Griffin Greek Woman of Service: Samara Gibson, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. 
  • Out of the Box: Alpha Gamma Delta
  • Impact Service: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. 
Jun 11